A New Journey

Hello, everyone. It’s been quite a while since I last posted on the Bible in Pop Culture. Is that because we’re in the dead season of movies and I’m just gearing up for the official launch of summer with this week’s Captain America: Civil War? Not in the least. The Jungle Book brought back the idea that a PG-rated family movie can make Deadpool kind of money without giving us content that makes Quentin Tarantino blush. And in March, Batman v. Superman brought us . . . well, some decent theological dialogue to discuss. (I’m trying to stay positive here . . .)

On television right now there’s nothing I am enjoying more each week than The Blacklist, and season 2 of Daredevil may be one of the best Marvel cinematic depictions yet. The 13 episodes are certainly better than the 13 best episodes of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Agent Carter, and Jessica Jones put together.

Despite the recent news that 2016 will not carry a single episode of Doctor Who until its Christmas special, there has been indeed plenty to write about in recent weeks. But other events have been going on in my family that have shifted my focus, at least temporarily, away from “putting on my God goggles” and writing about the ways that the gospel and biblical themes still show themselves in Hollywood today.

And just as builders build, teachers teach, and preachers preach, I as a writer can’t help but write my way through this latest journey in my family’s life. It’s how I best process, and it’s sometimes the only way I can communicate well what God is doing in my life.

Please click over to www.OrphanToOrphan.com to begin reading about this latest season of my life. Much like Moses, David, Mary, and multitudes of other biblical heroes, this new turn of events was not one that I saw coming, but we are trusting God and following Him to see where He takes us.

The first entry on the blog is dated April 26, and there are currently two more after that. As you can on most blogs, you can scroll down to the bottom and click to subscribe to the blog in order to get what will soon be single weekly updates, as well as connect with me on Twitter and Facebook. I hope to connect with you again at www.OrphanToOrphan.com, and also to hear back from you on any encouraging and helpful feedback you may have in relation to my family’s latest journey.

God bless you all.

Kevin

website logo

Leave a comment